Lviv
Ivana Franka St, 154
I bought a lump of soil under the city in 1901 to put up a hut for myself...
This is how the history of one of the houses on Sofiivka begins — a picturesque place near the Church of St. Sophia, where Lviv University professor, historian, First President of the Ukrainian People's Republic Mykhailo Hrushevsky lived for almost 12 years together with his closest and dearest people — his wife Maria and daughter Catherine.
The professor's villa was built in 1902 according to the project of the architect Martin Zohodny. And since then it has become the center of scientific, cultural and social life of the then Galicia. Around the scientist were gathered both Galicians and Nadniprans who came to Lviv. The Lviv School of Professor Hrushevsky was educated here, extraordinary scientific work was carried out, creative ideas were carried out, searches and achievements took place. But, first of all, the estate was a cozy corner, a place of rest and peace of mind for Mikhail, Maria and Kulunya Hrushevsky.
Did Mr. Professor ever imagine that, almost a century later, thanks to the titanic work of a small group of people, a Museum of his name would appear in this house? And again, as before, the gate of the estate and the door of the villa will be hospitably opened for scientists, public figures, artists and just those who want to understand, comprehend and honor all the greatness of the Great Ukrainian? And that in the XXI century. the house near Stryisky Park will again gather in its walls people who are not indifferent to the future of Ukraine? Probably not... He just lived and worked. Having no pretensions to create for the ages, he has created for the present. However, this work turned out to be eternal.
On May 1, 1998, according to the order of the leadership of the Lviv Regional State Administration No. 339 dated May 7, 1998, an equally important stage in the history of Mykhailo Hrushevsky's villa began — the State Memorial Museum received the status of an independent one. The grand opening for visitors took place on August 22, 2000.
Since the creation of the museum, in parallel with the design and restoration works, research, research and exhibition work has been carried out. As a result, a thematic and exposition plan for the future exposition of the museum, authored by the Honored Cultural Worker, Director of the Museum Maria Magún, was developed, agreed and approved. Artistic project — laureate of the State Prize of Honored Worker of Culture p. Oresta Skopa.
The six exhibition halls of the Museum highlight almost all stages of the life and work of the scientist. Particular emphasis is placed on the Lviv period of activity of M. Hrushevsky (1894-1914). The restored memorial interiors, including furniture, household items, photographs, documents, transport visitors to the beginning of the twentieth century. and create the illusion of the presence of the owners of the house.
Today, the museum's stock collection has more than 27 thousand pieces of preservation.